top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureA.I.A.I.

A DAY OF PRAYER A WEEK OF RECOGNITION

Updated: Oct 3, 2018

London, Ontario September 17th, 2018 – Recently the Association of Iroquois and Allied Indians attended the Assembly of First Nations (AFN) that met with the Canadian Government about the proposed Recognition and Implementation Of Rights Framework. In meeting with other communities and organizations it was agreed with many that all citizens of Indigenous communities and Nations need to work together to immediately stop this process.

Russ Diabo, an Indigenous Activist Networks Spokesperson, called for a national day of prayer and, a week of action. This is in line with A.I.A.I.’s efforts to help to reach out to other communities who may not be fully aware of the implications of what the framework means to the First Nations Peoples. Deputy Grand Chief Gord Peters states “This National Day of Prayer is consistent with spiritual relationship of treaties it belongs to all of our communities”

Grand Chief Joel Abram, Deputy Grand Chief Gord Peters and A.I.A.I.’s policy unit is ready to give presentations to communities, organizations and media to learn how the Rights Framework is the Federal Governments step towards stripping away the inherit rights of the Indigenous people. More information on presentations, updates and why the framework should be stopped can be available by contacting A.I.A.I.


7 views0 comments
bottom of page